Nominations are open for the Excellence in Grantmaking Awards!

The Gateway Center for Giving celebrates the work of our grantmaking community through our Excellence in Grantmaking Awards, by honoring donors who fund programs, efforts, or initiatives that have made a significant impact in the region.

We are once again soliciting nominations from local nonprofits for our annual Excellence in Grantmaking Awards. Nominations are due by October 22, 2013.

How to Nominate a Grantmaker

If you would like to nominate a grantmaker for one or more of the award categories, please submit the below information via email to the Center no later than October 22, 2013.

If your nomination is chosen, you will be contacted to obtain more detailed information about the grant and the grantor.  Further, you and one other representative from your organization will be invited to the Center’s Annual Meeting on January 24, 2014 and will present the award to the grantmaker.

Please submit nominations to Danielle Wallis at [email protected]. For more information about our upcoming Annual Meeting please visit our website, Registration for the Annual Meeting will be available in November.

  1. Name of Nonprofit:
  2. Name and Title of NPO Contact:
  3. Phone and Email:
  4. Name of Grantmaker:
  5. Award Category (see below for descriptions of award categories):
  6. Brief Description of Grantmaker Activity for Selection Purposes:

(The Center will contact you for more information if your submission is selected for further review and consideration)

Awards Categories

At the Center’s Annual Meeting on January 24, 2014, grantmakers from within our community will be awarded from three categories.  They are:

Giving is ON TIME

This category recognizes a grantmaker who either abandoned traditional funding requirements to meet the immediate and/or emergency needs of nonprofits and clients in the community OR worked closely with a nonprofit to help them realign their programs and strategies to better meet the needs of their clients and the community during these difficult economic times.

2012 Awardee:  The Assistance League of St. Louiswon the Giving is On Time Award, and was nominated by Boys Hope, Girls Hope St. Louis.  Brian Hipp presented the award to Sandy Johnson, President of the Assistance League.

Giving is ON GOING

Creating lasting change is the goal of every grantmaker.  There is no better way to leave a legacy than by changing the future.  This category includes either giving that spans multiple years in order to demonstrate systems change OR a grant that allowed a nonprofit to institutionalize a program that is now self supporting and providing a revenue stream for the organization.

2012 Awardee: The Sunnen Foundation won the Giving is On Going award and was nominated by the YMCA of Greater St. Louis.  Gary Schlansker presented the award to Kurt Kallaus, President of the Sunnen Foundation.


In-kind support and volunteerism are critical to helping nonprofits stretch a dollar and strengthen their organization.  Being responsive to community needs often means leveraging resources beyond financial grants.

2012 Awardee: 

Dana Brown Charitable Trust won the Giving is Far Reaching award and was nominated by the Saint Louis Zoo and the Nine Network of Public Media. Cynthia Holter and Jack Galmiche presented the award to Dan Watt of Dana Brown Charitable Trust.


Categories UncategorizedTags ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close